The main objective of the Advisory Committee is to strengthen participation and ownership of a wide range of actors in the follow up work to the Nansen Initiative and in the implementation of the Nansen Initiative Protection Agenda. Its function is twofold: 1)To provide expert input and strategic advice to the Chair and Steering Group of the Platform, and, as applicable and appropriate, 2)Support implementation of activities in the Workplan in consultation with the Coordination Unit and the Chair.

The Advisory Committee consists, inter alia, of individuals and representatives of international and regional organizations, research institutions, academia, private sector, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and other civil society stakeholders that have an interest to promote and implement the Protection Agenda and are committed to, individually or collectively, address protection challenges related to disaster displacement. It represents a diverse group of stakeholders with expertise in different fields of relevance to disaster displacement such as humanitarian assistance and protection, human rights, migration management, refugee protection, disaster risk reduction, climate change mitigation and adaption, and development.

The Advisory Committee is chaired by Prof. Walter Kaelin, the Envoy of the Chair of the Steering Group, and the meetings are organised by the Coordination Unit. The Advisory Committee meets at least once a year in Geneva, Switzerland to take stock of progress in implementing the Protection Agenda, share information on effective practices and lessons learned, present new research and new initiatives, assess gaps and challenges and discuss and promote opportunities for further cooperation, coordination and action. The annual meeting will be called by the Chair and organised by the Coordination Unit.

The 2017 Advisory Committee Workshop is taking place on 23-34 October 2017 in Bogy-Bossey, Switzerland. To learn more about this workshop, click here. To learn more about the 2016 Advisory Committee Workshop please read the 2016 Workshop Report or find out the highlights of the event in our News & Events section.

The Advisory Committee of the Platform on Disaster Displacement is composed of:

Action Aid Bangladesh
Alaska Institute for Justice
All India Disaster Mitigation Institute
Arab Network for Environment and Development (RAED)
Asia Pacific Refugee Rights Network (APRRN)
Asian Development Bank
Ateneo School of Government, Ateneo de Manila University
Australian National University (College of Law)
Australian National University (Department of International Relations)
Centre for International Climate and Environmental Research Oslo (CISERO)
Chatham House and Refugee Studies Centre (Oxford)
Chatham House (The Royal Institute of International Affairs)
Colombia University (Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), Earth Institute)
Cook Islands Red Cross
Danish Refugee Council
Dhaka School of Economics
Displacement Solutions
Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO)
Georgetown University (Institute for the Study of International Migration)
German Red Cross
Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR)
Independent Consultant - Bruce Burson
Independent Consultant - Elena Correa
Independent Consultant/Methodist Church in Britain - Julia Edwards
Independent Consultant - Jose Riera-Cezanne
Independent Consultant - Vikram Kolmannskog
Institute for Environmental Security
Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)
Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC)
International Catholic Migration Commission (ICMC)
International Center For Human Rights of Migrants (CIDEHUM)
International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD)
International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD)
International Centre of Comparative Environmental Law (CIDCE)
International Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA)
International Development Law Organization (IDLO)
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
International Labour Organization (ILO)
International Law Commission
International Organization for Migration (IOM)
Joint IDP Profiling Service (JIPS)
Mary Robinson Foundation – Climate Justice
Mekong Migration Network
Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC)
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
Pacific Conference of Churches
Quaker UN Office
Refugee Consortium of Kenya
Refugees International
Regional Mixed Migration Secretariat (RMMS)
Riamiriam Civil Society Network
Sabin Center for Climate Change Law, Colombia Law School
Sciences Po, Paris / The Hugo Observatory
South American Network for Environmental Migration (RESAMA)
South Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)
Sphere Project
Stellenbosch University (Faculty of Law)
Stockholm Environment Institute Asia Centre (SEI)
The Intercivil Society
The International Peace Institute
UK Climate Change and Migration Coalition
UN Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons
UN Women
UNFCCC Secretariat
United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR)
United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)
United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)
United Nations University (UNU)
Universal Rights Group
University for Peace
University of Florida (Department of Geography)
University of London (Refugee Law Initiative, School of Advanced Study)
University of London (School of Oriental and African Studies, SOAS)
University of Nairobi
University of New South Wales (Kaldor Centre for International Refugee Law)
University of Oxford
University of Sussex (School of Global Studies)
University of the Arts London
University of the South Pacific
University of Virginia (Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy)
Waikato University (Arts and Social Sciences)
Waikato University (Professor Emeritus)
World Bank / KNOMAD